Social media
Contact information

MDCPS: 1450 NE 2nd Ave,
Miami, FL 33132 - United States



(305) 995-1000
(For Non Technical Questions Only)

Monday, May 9, 2016
CONTACT:  Daisy Gonzalez-Diego
Miami-Dade County Public Schools

Magnet Schools of America Names Alberto M. Carvalho the 2016 Superintendent of the Year

Schools Superintendent Alberto M. Carvalho has been named the 2016 Magnet Schools of America (MSA) Superintendent of the Year. The announcement was made during MSA’s 34th National Conference held in Miami this past week.

This annual award recognizes the important work of leadership within school districts to keep magnets a priority in the portfolio of school choice options. This year, under Carvalho’s leadership, 55 new choice/magnet programs were added in Miami-Dade, bringing the District’s total to 500.

“This latest recognition is a testament to the collective work of our dedicated teachers, leaders and support staff as well as the policy leadership of our School Board” said Carvalho. “In Miami-Dade County Public Schools we embrace the idea of change, realizing that students’ academic interests and needs will evolve. Our goal is to develop, implement and deliver instruction that enriches every child’s academic experience and makes learning exciting and relevant.”

Carvalho has served as Superintendent of Miami-Dade County Public Schools (M-DCPS) since 2008. He has been a champion of ensuring equity and access to high quality, robust programs across the school district, believing that “one size fits none.”  His peers and the community have recognized him as a leader committed to educational achievement for all students. Last month, Carvalho was awarded the 2016 Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education for his “exemplary leadership in raising standards and improving graduation rates in a complex urban district, which is an outstanding model for others.”  Under Carvalho’s leadership, M-DCPS was selected the winner of the 2012 Broad Prize for Urban Education, considered the Nobel Prize in education. This award is given to urban school districts that demonstrate the greatest overall performance and improvement in student achievement while reducing achievement gaps among low-income students and students of color.

Also honored during last week’s conference was Martin Reid from Arthur & Polly Mays Conservatory of the Arts, named the National Magnet School Principal of the Year.

During the conference, hosted by M-DCPS, approximately 1,500 magnet school leaders and educators gathered to share best practices and honor the leaders and educators of magnet schools.

PHOTO CAPTION:  Miami-Dade Schools Superintendent Alberto M. Carvalho, center, accompanied by School Board members and District staff, is awarded the 2016 Magnet Schools of America Superintendent of the Year award.

# # #


Follow us