Social media
Contact information

MDCPS: 1450 NE 2nd Ave,
Miami, FL 33132 - United States



(305) 995-1000
(For Non Technical Questions Only)

Monday, February 12, 2018
CONTACT:  Daisy Gonzalez-Diego
Miami-Dade County Public Schools

Superintendent Alberto M. Carvalho Receives 2018 Minerva Miami Award Recognized for Fostering Tolerance and Inclusion in Schools

This past Saturday, at its 2018 Miami Cornerstone Society reception at the Rusty Pelican, the Point Foundation (Point) presented Superintendent of Schools Alberto M. Carvalho with the prestigious Miami Minerva Award. The award is given to an individual who has demonstrated leadership and commitment to the South Florida lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer (LGBTQ) community.

Superintendent Carvalho was recognized for proving to be both a strong ally to LGBTQ individuals and an example to educational leaders who ensure that schools are always spaces of tolerance and inclusion.

“An integral part of delivering world-class education to students is teaching them the important role of social justice and the principles of equity, respect, and compassion for all humanity,” said Carvalho. “I am humbled to be recognized by the Point Foundation for advancing ideals and values that are moral imperatives to building better communities and a better world.”

Point is the nation’s largest organization providing financial support, leadership training and mentoring to LGBTQ college students of merit.  The Miami Cornerstone Society event is their primary fundraising event in South Florida.

For the most up-to-date information, please download the Dadeschools mobile app on your iPhone or Android device.  Follow us on Twitter @mdcps and @miamisup and on Facebook at MiamiSchools and AlbertoCarvalho

TOP CAPTION: left-right: Point Foundation Trustees Markus Thiel and Jeffrey Davi, Point Scholar Alumn Jacob Rudolph, Superintendent Alberto M. Carvalho, Point Community College Scholarship Recipient Daffodyle Saget, State Rep. David Richardson and Point Foundation Trustees Orlando Gonzales and Terry Longmore.

# # #


Follow us



In The News