Social media
Contact information

MDCPS: 1450 NE 2nd Ave,
Miami, FL 33132 - United States



(305) 995-1000
(For Non Technical Questions Only)

Thursday, April 26, 2018
CONTACT:  Daisy Gonzalez-Diego
Miami-Dade County Public Schools

M-DCPS Recognizes Top Paraprofessional/School Support Personnel, Office Employee

At yesterday’s School Board meeting, Miami-Dade Schools Superintendent Alberto M. Carvalho honored the Paraprofessional/Support Personnel and the Office Employee of the Year during a special ceremony highlighting the outstanding school staff and the many contributions they make to their work sites and the District.


This year’s Paraprofessional/Support Personnel of the Year is Jermaine Green, a Paraprofessional at Jose de Diego Middle School. He is a 17-year veteran of the District. He has used art to develop fine motor and concentration skills in students who need support in these areas.  During Art Basel in 2016, Green and his students created works of art for the Tommy Hilfiger Autism Awareness project. In 2014, Green applied for and received funding for the GOOGLE and City Year School Beautification project, which he used to coordinate the development of a mural at Carrie P. Meek K-8 Center.

Rosa Castillo, the Secretary/Treasurer at North Miami Elementary School, is the Office Employee of the Year. She has been with the school district for five years. Castillo was selected as the 2016 and 2017 Office Employee of the Year for North Miami Elementary School. She continues to receive letters of commendation for exception-free audits.  Castillo created props and costumes for the “Bring a Book to Life” parade, and “Reading under the Stars” event.  She also serves as the United Way e-Pledge Ambassador; member of the EESAC committee; and member of the PTSA.

L-R North Miami Elementary Principal Debra Dubin, School Board member Dr. Steve Gallon III, Office employee of the Year Rosa Castillo, Superintendent Carvalho, UTD President Karla Hernandez-Mats, School Board member Mari Tere Rojas, School Board Vice-Chair Dr. Martin Karp and School Board member Dr. Marta Pérez

For the most up-to-date information, please download the Dadeschools mobile app to your iPhone or Android device.  Follow us on Twitter @mdcps and @miamisup and on Facebook at MiamiSchools and AlbertoCarvalho.

PHOTO CAPTION: Jermaine Green (holding award) is flanked by Miami-Dade School Board members, Superintendent Carvalho and district administrators.

# # #


Follow us



In The News