Social media
Contact information

MDCPS: 1450 NE 2nd Ave,
Miami, FL 33132 - United States



(305) 995-1000
(For Non Technical Questions Only)

Tuesday, November 20, 2018
CONTACT:  Daisy Gonzalez-Diego
Miami-Dade County Public Schools

Hantman, Karp Chosen to Continue Leading Miami-Dade School Board

Perla Tabares Hantman has been re-elected as Chair of the Miami-Dade County School Board for the 2018-2019 school year. Ms. Hantman, who represents District 4, was originally elected to the School Board in 1996.

Ms. Hantman will serve for an unprecedented 11th time as Chair.  She was the first Hispanic woman to serve as Chair, and has previously served from 1999-2001, then each consecutive year from 2010-2015 and again in 2017.

“I consider this to be a great honor and accept the responsibility with gratitude and enthusiasm,” said Hantman. “As a Board, with the assistance of the Superintendent, his staff, our teachers and support personnel, we have the responsibility to improve the education of our students. History has shown that when we work together and unite our efforts, the District and our students have achieved great success.”

Dr. Martin Karp was re-elected as Vice Chair. Dr. Karp, who represents District 3, was first elected to the School Board in 2004. This is his fourth time as Vice Chair. He served last year and previously in 2006 and 2012.

For the most up-to-date information, please download the Dadeschools mobile app to your iPhone or Android device.  Follow us on Twitter @mdcps and @miamisup and on Facebook at MiamiSchools and AlbertoCarvalho.

# # #


Follow us