Social media
Contact information

MDCPS: 1450 NE 2nd Ave,
Miami, FL 33132 - United States



(305) 995-1000
(For Non Technical Questions Only)

MDCPS Office of Communications Banner
Tuesday, November 17, 2020

Hantman, Gallon Return to Lead Miami-Dade School Board for 2020-2021

Perla Tabares Hantman has been re-elected for an unprecedented 13th time as Chair of the Miami-Dade County School Board. Ms. Hantman, who represents District 4, was originally elected to the School Board in 1996. She is the first Hispanic woman to serve as Chair, and has previously served from 1999-2001, then each consecutive year from 2010-2015 and again from 2017 to 2020.


“Every year presents a new challenge, and this year has been no exception,” said Hantman. “I have been blessed to have had the support of outstanding board members working with me, and I am excited to embark on another journey with our new board.”


Dr. Steve Gallon III was re-elected as Vice Chair. Dr. Gallon, who represents District 1, was first elected to the School Board in 2016. This is his second time serving as Vice Chair.


For the most up-to-date information, please download the Dadeschools mobile app to your iPhone or Android device. Follow us on Twitter @mdcps and @miamisup, on Instagram @miamischools and @miamisup, and on Facebook at MiamiSchools and AlbertoCarvalho


# # #


Follow us