February 21, 2003

Miami-Dade County Public Schools will honor its principal and assistant principal of the year at a recognition ceremony, Thursday, Feb. 27, 6:30 p.m., at the Renaissance Miami Biscayne Bay Hotel, 1601 Biscayne Blvd. Tickets for the event are $39 per person or $390 per table of 10.

The names of the nominees for principal of the year are listed below and represent each region and the Bureau of Adult/Vocational, Alternative Education and Dropout Prevention Programs:

  • A. Louise Harms, North Twin Lakes Elementary School, Region I

  • Arlene C. Ortenzo, Ruth K. Broad Bay Harbor Elementary School, Region II

  • Mattye Jones, Lorah Park Elementary School, Region III

  • Ellery R. Brown, New World School of the Arts, Region IV

  • Janet S. Hupp, Miami Palmetto High School, Region V

  • Mona Bethel Jackson, Richmond Heights Middle School, Region VI

  • Dr. Ronnie L. Hunter, William H. Turner Technical Arts High School, Adult/Vocational

The nominees for assistant principal of the year are:

  • Linda M. Harrison, Skyway Elementary School, Region I

  • Dr. Matthew J. Welker, Dr. Michael M. Krop High School, Region II

  • Dr. Philip J. Cole, Miami Springs Middle School, Region III

  • Barbara A. Mendizábal, Kinloch Park Middle School, Region IV

  • Anne-Marie DuBoulay, Southwest Miami High School, Region V

  • Deborah Darbonne, Florida City Elementary School, Region VI

  • Dr. Donna N. Dearman, Miami Springs Adult and Community Education Center, Adult/Vocational

The event is sponsored by Wachovia Bank and United Way of Miami-Dade. The winning principal of the year receives $5,000 and a one-year car lease from the Bill Seidle Automobile Dealership. The winning assistant principal of the year receives $2,500 and a Carnival cruise.

For more information, contact the Bureau of Community Services at 305-995-1215.



Back to News Releases